The commissioners

The Commission was supported by a panel of commissioners.

Dame Barbara Monroe, Vice Chair of the Commission into the Future of Hospice Care
Job titles and roles referred to are correct as of October 2013.

Chair: Dame Clare Tickell
Chief Executive, Action for Children.
Vice Chair: Dame Barbara Monroe
Chief Executive, St Christopher’s Group
Harry Cayton, OBE
Chief Executive, Professional Standards Authority
Dr Mayur Lakhani
Chair, National Council for Palliative Care, general practitioner and a clinical commissioning group board member (CCG)
Jonathan Ellis
Director of Policy & Advocacy, Hospice UK
Dr Fliss Murtagh
Clinical senior lecturer and consultant in palliative care, Cicely Saunders Institute, King’s College London
Baroness Ilora Finlay
Doctor, Professor of Palliative Medicine and an independent crossbench member of the House of Lords
David Praill
Chief Executive, Hospice UK, Co-Chair, Worldwide Palliative Care Alliance, Chair, ehospice
Penny Hansford
Director of Nursing, St Christopher’s Hospice
Joe Saxton
Driver of Ideas and founder, nfpSynergy
Claire Henry MBE
Head of Programmes for long term conditions and end of life care, NHS Improving Quality
Professor Jane Seymour
Professor, Sue Ryder Palliative Care Centre, University of Nottingham
Peter Holliday
Group Chief Executive, St Giles Hospice
Dr Teresa Tate OBE
Consultant in Palliative Medicine and former medical advisor, Marie Curie Cancer Care
Robin Knowles CBE, QC
Chair, Richard House Children’s Hospice. Chair, Together for Short Lives
Sarah Whitfield
Former Chief Executive, Dorothy House Hospice Care
Dr Jonathan Koffman
Senior Lecturer in Palliative Care, Cicely Saunders Institute, King’s College London

What does hospice care mean to you?