Hospice UK Awards 2019

Our Hospice UK Awards celebrate the innovative work and people in hospices and palliative care organisations across the UK.

Hospice UK Awards are kindly supported by the National Gardens Scheme.

The National Gardens Scheme (NGS) opens around 3,700 gardens of quality, character and interest to the public each year, to raise money for nominated care charities. Since 1996 the NGS has donated £5 million to hospice care and are the largest funder of our work.

The deadline for 2019 Awards has now closed. We will be streaming the awards ceremony on this page on 21 November, during the Hospice UK National Conference.

Watch last year's awards


The Innovation Awards are made in a number of key areas.  We look for stand out projects that will inspire other hospices and palliative care organisations, and show the world why they are such innovative organisations.

Innovation in Care

2017 Hospice UK Retail Awards
Information and Criteria >

Innovation in Partnership Working

Hospice UK Retail Awards 2015
Information and Criteria >

Dying Matters Award

Hospice UK Awards 2016
Information and Criteria >

Michael Howard Award

Make a nomination for the Michael Howard Award
Information and Criteria >

Innovation in Income Generation

We support hospices with income generation
Information and Criteria >

Tackling Inequalities

Hospice UK Awards 2015
Information and Criteria >

Towergate Hospice Team of the Year

Towergate Insurance
Information and Criteria >

Dementia Care at Home Award

Make a nomination for the Dementia Care at Home award
Information and Criteria >

There are also an additional two categories to recognise the special contribution to hospice care made by individuals.

Volunteer of the Year

Get involved and volunteer
Information and Criteria >

Volunteer Gardener of the Year

Gardens with sunflowers
Information and Criteria >


Members and Subscribers of Hospice UK are eligible to enter, with the exception of:

  • The Towergate Hospice Team of the Year Award, which is only open to member hospices.
  • The Dying Matters Award, which is open to those who registered an event in England, Wales (via Byw Nawr) and Northern Ireland.
  • The Dementia Care at Home Award, which is open to all.


The deadline for all entries and nominations is now closed.


All winners will receive glassware and a one-day free conference place. In addition we offer accommodation for winners of the Volunteer of the Year, Volunteer Gardener of the Year and Dementia Care at Home Award.

Winning also gives you an opportunity to instil pride and morale in staff, volunteers, supporters and your wider community. There will also be public relations (PR) opportunities for winning hospice to publicise their success.


Awards will be presented on Thursday, 21 November 2019, at our National Conference dinner at the ACC in Liverpool.

Further information

If you are thinking of entering, please read through the guidance for the specific award using the category links above.

Please contact the Grants Team for further information or help about Hospice UK Awards.

Thank you

Hospice UK Awards are kindly supported by the National Gardens Scheme. We are grateful for their continued and valued support.

The National Gardens Scheme

What does hospice care mean to you?